Woodstock | US High School Diploma and IB DP
Woodstock Diploma, US High School Diploma, IB Diploma Programme
page-template-default,page,page-id-34141,page-child,parent-pageid-15672,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-theme-ver-5.4,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.11.2,vc_responsive

US Diploma and IB Diploma Pathway

Students pursuing the IB Diploma Programme study six subjects over a two-year period. Successful students graduate with the IB Diploma as well as the Woodstock U.S. Diploma.


Core programme

All Diploma candidates complete an extended essay under the supervision of an advisor on a topic of their choice. They also take part in an interdisciplinary course titled Theory of Knowledge and they participate in Creativity, activity, service (CAS), a programme promoting activity and service in the community. These three areas represent the Diploma Programme core and must be passed to earn the diploma.


Subject groups

In addition, student study six subjects, which must include one from each of the following:


Group 1: Studies in Language and Literature – student’s mother tongue/strongest language

Group 2: Language Acquisition – a second modern language (or an additional course from Group 1)

Group 3: Individuals and Societies – Economics, Global politics, History, Psychology, Environmental Systems & Societies* (ESS)

Group 4: Sciences – Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Environmental Systems & Societies* (ESS), Computer Science, Sports Exercise and Health Science

Group 5: Mathematics

Group 6: The Arts – Visual Art, Drama, Film, or Music (or an additional course from one of the previous groups, with the exception of mathematics)


For IB Diploma candidates, of six subjects in total, three courses must be studied at the higher level (HL) and three at the standard level (SL).


*As a transdisciplinary subject, Environmental Systems and Societies (ESS) satisfies requirements for both group 4 (the experimental sciences) and group 3 (individuals and societies). ESS students may therefore choose another subject from any of the six groups (including another group 3 or 4 subject). ESS is offered only at the Standard Level (SL).




IB Diploma Courses

Find out more about IB Diploma Courses we offer and the six subject groups.